Dr. Henry Samueli

Dr. Henry Samueli is a Co-Founder of Broadcom Corporation and serves as Chairman of the Board and Chief Technical Officer (CTO). In this role, he is responsible for driving the vision of Broadcom’s research and development activities as well as helping to lead corporate-wide engineering development strategies.

Dr. Samueli has more than 30 years of experience in the fields of communications systems engineering and digital signal processing. Since co-founding Broadcom, he has also served as Chairman and Co-Chairman of the Board and Vice President of Research and Development.

Since 1985, Dr. Samueli has been a professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), where he has supervised advanced research programs in broadband communications circuits and digital signal processing, and he has published more than 100 technical papers in these areas. He has been on a leave of absence from UCLA since 1995.

Dr. Samueli is also a Distinguished Adjunct Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at the University of California, Irvine. Dr. Samueli was the Chief Scientist and one of the founders of PairGain Technologies, Inc., a telecommunications equipment manufacturer in the digital subscriber line (DSL) industry, and he consulted for PairGain from 1988 to 1994.

From 1980 until 1985, Dr. Samueli served in a variety of engineering management positions in the Electronics and Technology Division of TRW, Inc., where he was responsible for the development of military broadband communications systems. Dr. Samueli received a B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from UCLA. He is a named inventor in 70 U.S. patents.

In June 2012 Dr. Samueli was awarded the Marconi Society Prize and Fellowship and in December 2011 the Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA) named him the winner of the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).